IPart Client, Recipient of 2011 Tibbetts Award

IPart Client Awardee

re, Inc. is a leading developer of Intelligent Modular Manipulation Systems. re’s mission is to advance the state of the art of mobile manipulation and develop dual-use technologies that benefit both defense & public safety robot users. re’s manipulation systems and components are scalable and modular. re’s development efforts are focused on creating plug-n-play manipulation systems and end-effectors that are interoperable with existing and next-generation robotic platforms.  To learn more about re, please click on their logo above.

re has been the recipient of of 10 technical reviews provided by the Innovation Partnership; $23,000 in Proposal Preparation Assistance Awards and over $1m in Federal SBIR Grants for proposals coming through the IPart.  Congratulations to the company for this prestigious award!

More About the Tibbetts Awards:

Inaugural SBIR Hall of Fame Companies are Leaders in Innovation and Job Creation

WASHINGTON, February 15, 2010 – Forty-Four small businesses and eight individuals were honored today for the critical role they play in research and development for the government and for their success in driving innovation and creating new jobs.

The Tibbetts Awards, given by the U.S. Small Business Administration, honor outstanding small businesses and individuals who participate in the SBA’s Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program. Eight past participants in SBIR who represent the very best of the 30-year SBIR program were named to the Inaugural SBIR Hall of Fame class.

“Winning the future requires redoubling our commitment to supporting innovative entrepreneurs like those we honor with Tibbetts Awards,” said Karen Mills, SBA administrator. “In particular, our eight Hall of Famers started small, but their growth has powered our economy for years. Their stories illustrate the promise of the new generation of innovative entrepreneurs and remind us all how central the success of one high growth small business can be to our competitiveness as a nation.”

The Tibbetts Awards, named after Roland Tibbetts, who was instrumental in developing the SBIR program, are presented to companies and individuals from all over the United States who are beacons of promise and models of excellence in high technology.

Tibbetts award winners are selected based on the economic impact of their technological innovation, and on whether they have met federal research and development needs, encouraged diverse participation in technological innovation, and increased the commercialization of federal research.

Two types of Tibbetts Awards exist: awards for businesses that have participated in the SBIR Phase I and II award programs, and awards for individuals who have supported the SBIR Program but who have not received economic assistance from the program.

New for 2011 are the SBIR Hall of Fame Awards which recognize companies with a long period of extraordinary success of research, innovation, and commercialization within the SBIR program.

The SBA’s Small Business Innovation Research program accounted for approximately $2.5 billion in FY 2010 in federal research and development funds and is coordinated by the SBA in cooperation with 11 federal agencies.

The presentations were made at the Washington, D.C. Marriott with Qualcomm, Inc. co-founder Dr. Irwin M. Jacobs serving as keynote speaker. A reception for the Hall of Fame class was held later at a reception at the White House.